Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Lord Dhanvantari

Lord dhanvantri - the god of ayurveda

Dhanvantari is a Hindu god of healing. He is the father of Ayurveda, the physician god who carries in his hands a bowl of amrit (the nectar of immortality), a discus or chakra (to cut away evil), a conch shell (which is used in a ground form in some traditional medicines), and herbs or a leech (an ancient method still in use today for bloodletting – the saliva of the leech contains a compound very similar to the pharmaceutical blood-thinner Coumadin).

What is Ayurveda?

Ayurveda , the science of life, prevention and longevity is the oldest and most holistic medical system available on the planet today. The term Ayurveda is taken from the Sanskrit word 'Ayur' , meaning life or lifespan. The word 'Ayur' literally means 'life' and 'veda', the 'science' or 'knowledge'.It was placed in written form over 5,000 years ago in India, it was said to be a world medicine dealing with both body and the spirit.

History of Ayurveda.

Ayurveda emerged as a widely respected healing system in India. In 1500 B.C., Ayurveda got bifurcated into eight divisions of medicine. It developed under two main schools: • Atreya - the school of physicians, and • Dhanvantari - the school of surgeons.

Principles of Ayurveda were envisaged through intensive meditation and divine revelation. Two ancient personalities who played a major role in propagating Ayurveda were Charak and Sushrut. Their work found its place in 'Ashtanga Hridaya'. Apart from it, the other two compilations of Ayurveda are Charak Samhita and Sushrut Samhita.

The four vedas of ayurveda

Rig veda:

The Rig Veda refers to the cosmology, termed as Sankhya. This concept of cosmology constitutes the foundation of Ayurveda and Yoga. The Rig Veda contains principles based on the nature of health, disease, pathogenesis, and treatment. While Rig Veda contains details of three energies namely Vayu, Pitta and Kapha

Vata pita kapa Vata, Pitta and Kapha –

the three fundamental principles of nature which govern all the activities of your mind and body; Vata is quick, cold and dry by nature. It governs motion, breathing, circulation, elimination and the flow of nerve impulses to and from the brain. Pitta is hot and precise by nature. It governs digestion and metabolism and the processing of food, air and water throughout the body. Kapha is solid and steady by nature. It governs structure and fluid balance and forms muscle, fat, bone and sinew. We all have a certain amount of Vata, Pita and Kapha in our constitution and while all three of them are active, one or two usually dominate.


Samaveda is the third of collections of vedic mantras. It has exactly 1875 mantras or verses, each of which has a specific metre.


The word Yajurveda is the combination of two words "Yaju" meaning sacrifice and "Veda" meaning knowledge. Apart of the four vedas, yajurveda was the main vedic script used by the priests in ancient India. Yajurveda seeks to create a deeper level of consciousness among people. It sets forth a yogic practice that purifies not just the body, but also the mind.


Atharva Veda contains eight divisions of Ayurveda. These are:

Internal Medicine Surgery of Head and Neck Ophthalmology and Otorinolaryngology

SurgeryToxicology Psychiatry Pediatrics Science of Rejuvenation and Science of Fertility